NEWFIELD PUBLIC LIBRARY

BYLAWS

ARTICLE I MEMBERS, MEETINGS OF THE ASSOCIATION

- 1. A resident of the town of Newfield who is 21 years of age or older is a member of the Newfield Library Association.
- 2. The library year shall close December 31st and the annual meeting of the members of the Newfield Library Association shall be held at the library at 7:00 pm during the first week of January and shall include reports of the trustees, library director, secretary, treasurer, and other such committees as may be necessary. The election of trustees shall also take place.
- 3. Notice of this meeting should be publicized in advance of the meeting. The meeting is open to the public.

ARTICLE II TENURE OF OFFICE OF TRUSTEES

- 1. The term of office of trustees shall be five (5) years.
- 2. Whenever a vacancy shall occur in the board of trustees, the board shall fill such vacancy as soon as possible. The appointed trustee(s) will hold office through the appointed term to which they are appointed.

ARTICLE III OFFICERS

- 1. The officers of the board of trustees shall be a president, a vice president, a secretary, and a treasurer.
- 2. Officers shall be elected at the first regular yearly meeting of the library by a majority of the board.
- 3. All officers shall have the usual powers associated with their office.
- 4. Vacancies among the officers shall be filled at an election at a regular meeting, and a majority vote of the trustees shall be necessary for an election.

ARTICLE IV MEETINGS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

- Regular meetings of the board of trustees shall be held each quarter, at dates and times to be established by the board at the beginning of the library year an shall be open to the public except when individual personnel issues are being discussed.
- 2. Special meetings shall be held at the call of the president or of any four trustees.
- 3. A majority of the designated number of the board shall constitute a quorum.
- 4. The order of business shall be as follows:
 - a. Call to order
 - b. Review of minutes of previous meeting: acceptance
 - c. Financial report and approval of expenditures
 - d. Report of the library director
 - e. Report of special committees, if any
 - f. Nominations and elections, if any
 - g. Correspondence and communications

- h. Unfinished business
- i. New business
- j. Adjournment

ARTICLE V COMMITTEES

- 1. Ad hoc committees may be appointed by the president with the approval of the board. Non-board members may be appointed to such committees to bring special capabilities for the resolution of problems confronting the committee.
- 2. All committee actions are subject to approval by a majority of the board.

ARTICLE VI LIBRARY DIRECTOR

- 1. The board shall appoint a qualified library director who shall be the executive and administrative officer of the library.
- 2. The director shall be held responsible for the proper performance of duties as spelled out in the job description provided by the board.
- 3. The director shall supervise the selection of all library materials and services authorized by the association.
- 4. It shall be the duty of the director to attend all meetings of the board, including budget meetings, or public meetings where action may be taken affecting the interests of the library. The director shall have the right to speak on all matters under discussion at board meetings, but shall not have the right to vote thereon.

ARTICLE VII AMENDMENTS

1. Changes in these bylaws shall be proposed at a regularly called meeting of the Newfield Library Association at least thirty days previous to their adoption. Such action may be taken only after the substance of the proposed change has been presented in writing. Notice of such change will be given in the notice of the meeting at which it is to be considered.

Adopted:	2/5/90	
Revised:	4/19/93	
Reviewed:	12/30/20	

Amendments to bylaws duly adopted April 19, 1993

Article I, #2 "...the annual meeting.......during the FIRST WEEK OF JANUARY......" changed to read the THIRD WEEK OF JANUARY.

Article II, add #3: A trustee may not serve more than 2 consecutive five year terms beginning January 1, 1994.